Winter Production

O, a retractatio of Shakespeare’s Othello.  Honor, jealousy, betrayal and the fall of a warrior.

A modernized version of “Othello” as seen through the lens of “Law and Order”. Othello, head of a specialized FBI unit, falls prey to the machinations of one of his oldest and most trusted agents, Iago and slowly succumbs to a monstrous jealousy. Based on the Folio text, this scaled-down and streamlined version brings Shakespeare’s notions of honor, jealousy and betrayal into a world entirely recognizable for a contemporary audience.

Premiere February 6th 2019 in the Internationales Theater Frankurt

What we do

English language classical theater for Frankfurt.

Shakespeare Frankfurt is committed to text-based storytelling and utilizes classical and modern theatrical techniques to tell stories that are relevant and accessible to a modern audience. Whether with Shakespeare or new plays, we focus on a generous and flexible environment for artists to grow in.

Clarity, dialogue, and community are three of our guiding principles in bringing classical stories to the uniquely international community that is Frankfurt. In all our work the author’s story is in the primary focus, but the staging lifts the socially relevant themes to stimulate the minds of our culturally diverse, international audience.

Shakespeare is a universal playwright we immediately identify with for classical theater. But we don’t perform only Shakespeare. Works by Moliere, Marlow, Schiller, Chaucer, Lope de Vega etc. in English translation or original versions are on our planning list.  This autumn we present “ An Enemy of the People” by Henrik Ibsen with the German premiere of a new translation by Deborah Dawkin and Erik Skuggevik (By arrangement with Penguin Books Ltd, a Penguin Random House company). In winter a lively staging “Lysistra” by Aristophanes will also rock the stages of the Internationales Theater, where we play our 2018/19 season. Both productions are modern english translations to appeal to a modern audience and intentions of the authors.

Who we are

Tracey Grey

Managing Artistic Director

I have discovered a particular passion for Theatre Production. As an actress I was always inspired by the art in staging: design for lighting, costume and sound. As an educator I have a passion for working with the actors to enhance their skills for the stage, and as a person I enjoy the communication with the audience.”

PJ Escobio

Artistic Director

It all starts with a great story and I love stories.  It’s why I chose a career in theatre. But its more than that; its collaboration. A big part of what I do is to bring artists from multiple disciplines together.  That collaboration acts as a conduit for the play and  becomes “cultural research and development”. By doing what we do, I get to tell amazing stories with inspiring people.

Open-Air Theatre in the Botanical Garden Frankfurt
Shakespeare in the Garden

Impressive Scenery

The stage is the botanical Garden Frakfurt. The audience accompany the actors through the garden and experience a dynamic, animated performance in the original text. The story is communicated through the gestures and physical relationships.

Unique Atmosphere

The story comes alive with music and the breath-taking atmosphere of the garden. Audiences leave the performance enchanted and enriched by this theatrical „adventure“.

How to find us

Enjoy an unforgettable evening in magical surroundings.

Information

Monday - Friday: 11:00-16:00

We are here

Hasengasse 21, 60311 Frankfurt am Main
Phone: +49 (0)69-26 49 01 93
Fax: +49 (0)69-26 49 01 94
Email: hello@shakespearefrankurt.de

Unsere nächste Show

O, a retractatio of Shakespeare’s Othello.Honor, jealousy, betrayal and the fall of a warrior.

Eine moderne Version von „Othello“ nach dem Konzept von „Law and Order“. Othello, Leiter einer spezialisierten FBI-Einheit, fällt den Machenschaften eines seiner ältesten und vertrautesten Agenten, Iago, zum Opfer und erliegt zunehmend einer monströsen Eifersucht. Basierend auf dem Folio-Text bringt diese gestraffte Version Shakespeares Vorstellungen von Ehre, Eifersucht und Verrat in eine Welt, in der sich ein zeitgenössisches Publikum sofort wieder erkennt.

Premiere am 7. Februar 2019 im Internationalen Theater Frankfurt

Was wir machen

Classical Theater in englische Sprache für Frankfurt.
Shakespeare Frankfurt hat sich dem textbasierten Geschichtenerzählen verschrieben. Wir nutzen Techniken sowohl des klassischen als auch des modernen Theaters, um Geschichten zu erzählen, die für ein modernes Publikum relevant und zugänglich sind. Ob mit Shakespeare oder auch anderen Bühnenautoren, unser Fokus liegt auf einem flexiblen und großzügigen Umfeld für Künstler. Die darin den nötigen Entfaltungsspielraum finden.

Klarheit, Dialog und Gemeinschaft sind drei unsererLeitprinzipien, wenn wir dem einzigartig internationalen Frankfurter Publikum klassische Stücke darbieten.In all unsererArbeit bei Shakespeare Frankfurt verpflichten wir uns einem Theater, das die Geschichte(n)inden Vordergrund stellt, dabei aber immer sozial relevant ist und zum Nachdenken anregt – und dabei dem diversen Publikum unserer alten und historischen Stadt zugänglich ist.

Doch wir spielen nicht nur Shakespeare. Im kommenden Herbst präsentieren wir “An Enemy of the People” von Henrik Ibsen und unsere Winterproduktion ist „Lysistrata“von Aristophanes im Internationalen Theater Frankfurt. Beide Produktionen spielen wir in einer modernen englischen Übersetzung, um mit diesen klassischen Geschichten ein modernes Publikum anzusprechen.

Wer wir sind

Tracey Grey

Managing artistic Director

Meine besondere Leidenschaft ist Theater-Produktion – nicht nur auf der Bühne spielen, sondern das Bühnen/ Kostüm-Design, Musik-Elemente arrangieren, das Ensemble weiterbilden und mit einem Publikum kommunizieren. Das Projekt mit Shakespeare in the Garden bietet kreative Möglichkeiten, die mich begeistern und inspirieren.

PJ Escobio

Artistic Director

Es fängt alles mit einer tollen Geschichte an und ich liebe Geschichten. Deshalb habe ich mich für eine Karriere im Theater entschieden. Aber in erste Linie geht es um die Zusammenarbeit. Ein großer Teil meiner Arbeit besteht darin, Künstler aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zusammenzubringen. Diese Zusammenarbeit fungiert als Verbindung für das Stück und wird zur "kulturellen Forschung und Entwicklung". Durch das, was wir tun, kann ich erstaunliche Geschichten mit inspirierenden Menschen erzählen.

Freilichtbühne im botanischen Garten:
Shakespeare in the Garden

Beeindruckende Kulisse

Die Bühne ist der Botanische Garten. Die Zuschauer begleiten das Ensemble durch den Garten und erleben so ein Shakespeare-Schauspiel in lebhafter traditioneller Inszenierung: ausdrucksstark und eindrucksvoll. Dabei steht die Geschichte im Mittelpunkt und wird durch die Gestik und Mimik des professionellen Ensembles zum Leben erweckt.

Einzigartige Atmosphäre

Untermalt von live Musik werden die Zuschauer – unabhängig von ihren Englisch-Kenntnissen – in die Welt von William Shakespeare entführt.

Wir wollen unser Publikum mit der Natur und der Sprache der spannenden GeschichtenShakespeares sowie mit einer einzigartigen Atmosphäre begeistern.

So finden Sie zu uns

Genießen Sie einen unvergesslichen Abend in einzigartiger Atmosphäre. 

Information

Montag- Freitag: 11:00-16:00 Uhr

We are here

Hasengasse 21, 60311 Frankfurt am Main
Phone: +49 (0)69-26 49 01 93
Fax: +49 (0)69-26 49 01 94
Email: hello@shakespearefrankfurt.de